Curry Athletics Hall of Fame Inducts Six

Curry Athletics Hall of Fame Inducts Six

MILTON, Mass.- On Friday October 21st, the Curry College Athletic Hall of Fame welcomed its six newest members as the Class of 2016 at the Alumni Recreation Center in front of a sold out audience. Curry College Athletic Director Vinnie Eruzione served as the Master of Ceremonies for the event and helped welcome Joe Noonan '79 (football), Sean Pero '05 (men's ice hockey), Nicholas Stricklin '91 (basketball), Alysia DiMuzio '09 (softball) and Christina Sancinito '09 (basketball, softball) and Brian Robitaille '05 (football) into the 2016 Hall of Fame Class.

Joe Noonan '79 (Football)

Noonan was a dominant and versatile offensive lineman playing both guard and tackle over his four years at Curry. During his sophomore through senior seasons, Joe excelled at the "Blind Side" left tackle position long before this position became recognized for its importance. He received All Conference Honorable Mention honors for the 1976 season. A leader both on and off the field, Joe started and played in every game over his Curry career. 


Sean Pero '05 (Men's Ice Hockey)

The Curry College single-game record holder for the most goals in a game with five, Sean Pero ranks in the top five all-time in the categories of career scoring, goals and assists. He made his impact on the ice right away being named the ECAC Northeast Rookie of the Year and an ECAC Northeast All-Rookie Team selection during his freshman season. During the 2002-03 season, Pero led the nation in assists and placed in second in scoring. For his success on the ice he was named the Team MVP in 2003. Pero was a four-time selection of an ECAC Northeast All-Conference team and was awarded first team honors by the New England Hockey Writers in 2003-04. He served as the Assistant Captain for his final three seasons ('03, '04, '05). 

Nicholas Stricklin '91 (Basketball)

Ranking 10th all-time in Curry basketball history with 1,010 career points, Nicholas Stricklin led the team in scoring during the 1989-90 and 1990-91 seasons.  He served as the team captain during the 1990-91 season. 

Alysia DiMuzio '09 (Softball)

The 2009 Female Athlete of the Year, Alysia DiMuzio dominated on the softball field. Named the Rookie of the Year in 2006 she was also a four-time member of a CCC All-Conference team. As a senior, DiMuzio was named to the ESPN Academic All-America Second Team. She honored a combined four times by the ECAC and NEISCA as an All-Star. Named the Offensive Player of the Year in 2008 and 2009, DiMuzio played in 175 career games while tallying 200 hits, 106 runs, 172 RBI's and a career batting average of .372. 

Christina Sancinito '09 (Basketball and Softball)

The 2009 Female Scholar Athlete of the Year, Christina Sancinito excelled on the court, field and in the classroom. On the basketball court, she scored 1071 career points. Sancinito was named the Team MVP for two consecutive seasons in (2008, 2009). She received the honor of being named a CCC All-Conference Honorable Mention in 2008-09. 

Brian Robitaille '05 (Football)

Ranked third all-time on the career tackles list with 332, Brian Robitaille was a standout defensive player during his four football seasons at Curry College. He was named the Curry Defensive Player of the Year for three consecutive season ('02-05). During two of those seasons, Robitaille was awarded NEFC Defensive Player of the Year honors. Named a 1st  team All-American in 2004 he also brought home the Gridiron Club Division III Defensive Player of the Year in addition to being selected to the ECAC First Team and an AFCA Aztec Bowl Selection during the same year. He also served as the Captain of the 2004 team. 

For a full photo gallery of the event, click Here