Four Colonels Earn All-CCC Honors

Four Colonels Earn All-CCC Honors

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – The Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) announced its 2017 Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Teams and major award winners Friday afternoon. Four Curry College student-athletes earned all-conference nods, all on the Third Team. Devin Newell (Medford, Mass.), MJ Urbano (Wakefield, Mass.), Zach White (Milford, Conn.) and Dakota Sanders (Oak Bluffs, Mass.) were recognized for their play as they helped lead the Colonels to a 9-8 overall record, including 3-5 in the conference in regular season play.

Newell played in all 17 games, making 14 starts. He tallied 28 goals and 29 assists for a total of 57 points. His 28 goals rank second on the team while the 29 helpers lead the team. The 57 points is also a team-high. He recorded 40 ground balls and 76 shots, 42 of which were on goal.

Urbano earns the recognition with a Third Team selection after the sophomore saw time in 16 games, starting in three of them. He registered 18 goals and 10 assists for 28 points. The Wakefield, Mass. native scooped up 27 ground balls and tallied 79 shots, 48 on goal.

White lands on the third team after seeing time in 14 contests, making 12 starts. He had six goals and two assists for a total of 8 points, picked up 84 ground balls and went 146-230 in the faceoff circle for Curry.

Rounding out the all-conference selections is Sanders, who has played in and started all 17 games so far this season. He recorded seven points on six goals and one assist. The sophomore also picked up 43 ground balls and caused 22 turnovers, the second most on the team.  

Curry enters CCC Tournament Play with a quarterfinal matchup at number four seed Roger Williams. Game time is set for 4:30 p.m. on Saturday.