Junior's Marissa Bruno and Mikayla Korona Garner Second Team All-CCC Honors and Sophomore's April Adams and Mikayla Lambert Receive Third Team All-CCC Honors

Junior's Marissa Bruno and Mikayla Korona Garner Second Team All-CCC Honors and Sophomore's April Adams and Mikayla Lambert Receive Third Team All-CCC Honors

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – The Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) announced the Softball All-Conference and major award winners Thursday afternoon. Student-athletes from eight of the ten CCC softball teams were named All-CCC honorees. 

Western New England teammates junior Gabby Lavinio (Dalton, Mass.) and senior Heidi Grieger (Hyde Park, N.Y.) were respectively named the league's Player of the Year and Pitcher of the Year. University of New England first-yearAvery Alberghini (Middlesex, Vt.) took home Rookie of the Year honors, while Endicott's Samantha DiBella (Danvers, Mass.) was recognized as the year'sSenior Scholar-Athlete. Western New England head coach Lori Mayhew was named the league's Coach of the Year for the second season in a row after leading the Golden Bears to the top-seed in the CCC Championship Tournament. Gordon was honored with the Team Sportsmanship Award.

Voting for the All-CCC teams and each of the major awards was conducted by the conference's ten softball head coaches following the conclusion of the regular season.

Alberghini (Utility), Grieger (P), and Lavinio (SS) were also named to the All-CCC First Team. Lavinio and Grieger were joined on the team by their Golden Bear teammates outfielder Alexis Bukowski (Wallingford, Conn.) and Heather Fecteau (Biddeford. Maine) at first base. Alberghini's UNE teammate,Amanda Vallante (Dracut, Mass.) was named to the team in the outfield. Endicott had five players earn First Team honors including pitcher Courtney Blake (East Islip, N.Y.), catcher Emily Hoffman (Malden, Mass.), Chrissy Gikas (Danvers, Mass.) at second base, Jamie Corda (Higganum, Conn.) in the outfield, and designated player Hayley Arduini (Southington, Conn.). Salve Regina freshman Elizabeth Lombardo (Thomaston, Conn.) rounded off the team with a selection at third base.

The Seahawks were well represented on the All-CCC Second Team with five players being honored. They were pitchers Kelsey Boarman (North Dighton, Mass.) and Nicole Parry (Quincy, Mass.), Francesca Galeazzi (Lynn, Mass.) at second base, outfielder Lindsey Florent (New Bedford, Mass.), and designated player Kara O'Riley (Acton, Mass.). The second team also included Marissa Bruno (3B) (Milford, Conn.) and Mikayla Korona (OF) (Bellingham, Mass.) from Curry, Margaret Martzolf (Utility) (Port St. Lucie) from Endicott, Emily Kline (1B) (Park Ridge, N.J.) from Gordon, Kendall Meehan (SS) (Danvers, Mass.) from Nichols, Julianne Vesce (DP) (Mahwah, N.J.) from Roger Williams, Sydney Helmbrecht (1B) (Grand Rapids, Minn.) and Andrea Gosper (OF) (Richmond, R.I.) from UNE, and Corianna DeLisi (C) (Tuxedo, N.Y.) from Western New England.

Seven schools were represented on the All-CCC Third Team with Roger Williams leading the way. The five Hawks receiving Third Team honors were Meghan Maliga (P) (Suffield, Conn.), Veronica Alicea (1B), (Trumbull, Conn.), Meredith Moise (2B) (North Reading, Mass.), Haley Ledbetter (SS) (Westerly, R.I.), and Taylor Messier (OF) (Cranston, R.I.). Curry placed two on the Third Team with April Adams (OF) (Burlington, Mass.) and Mikayla Lambert (Utility) (Blackstone, Mass.) both getting nods. The rest of the Third Team was comprised of Endicott's Julia McNeill (OF) (Smithtown, N.Y.), Gordon's Marissa Meenan (OF) (Wayne, Pa.), Salve Regina's Genevieve Benoit (C) (Swampscott, Mass.), UNE's Abby Lambert (P) (Brockton, Mass.), and Western New England's McKenzie Pezze (3B) (Albany, N.Y.).

For full release, click here.