Beltz Named to All-CCC Second Team

Beltz Named to All-CCC Second Team

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. - Student-athletes from all 10 member institutions in the Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) were represented on the 2013-14 All-CCC Women's Basketball Team. In addition to the all-conference team, six major individual award winners and the team sportsmanship award winner were selected.

Curry College junior guard Kylie Beltz (Pequot Lakes, Minn.) earned second team all-conference honors. A year ago as a sophomore, Beltz was a member of the all-conference honorable mention squad. She surpassed 1,000 career points during a game at Endicott College on February 15.

Roger Williams University senior Kaitlyn Bovee was named CCC Player of the Year and University of New England sophomore Lauren Hayden was selected CCC Defensive Player of the Year. Gordon College freshman Fredi Nielsen was awarded CCC Rookie of the Year and Wentworth Institute of Technology's Kendra Kerr was honored as CCC Senior Scholar-Athlete of the Year. The University of New England's Anthony Ewing and Roger Williams University's Kelly Thompson were both selected as the CCC Coach of the Year, while Gordon received the Team Sportsmanship Award.

Voting for the All-CCC team and each of the major awards was conducted among CCC women's basketball coaches.

Joining Bovee and Kerr on the first team were Kelly Coleman (University of New England), Samantha Crough (Endicott College), Meaghan Harden (Salve Regina University), and Marissa Pendergast (Salve Regina).

Second team honorees included Beltz, Meghan Gribbin (University of New England), Brooke Kratche (Gordon), Ari Renwick (Roger Williams), and Chelsea Vujs (Western New England).

Joining Hayden on the third team were Angelica Ariola (Roger Williams), Kelsey Cuddy (Endicott), Brianna Del Valle (Salve Regina), Ruby Leon (Eastern Nazarene College), Amber Litwinko (Nichols College), Devon Spirka (Nichols), and Kayleen Whall (Endicott).

Click here to read the full release