Cross Country Finishes 7th at Roger Williams in CCC Championship Meet

Cross Country Finishes 7th at Roger Williams in CCC Championship Meet

BRISTOL, R.I. – The Roger Williams University Women's Cross Country took fifth place at the 2015 Commonwealth Coast Conference Women's Cross Country Championship.

The University of New England won the Commonwealth Coast Conference Women's Cross Country Championship for the fourth straight season. 

UNE's Tiana Thomas (Waterville, Maine) was named CCC Runner of the Year after winning the race in 21:55.31. Salve Regina's Amy Irving (Bohemia, N.Y.) finished as CCC runner-up after notching a time of 22:17.70. In addition, UNE's Ron Ouellette was recognized as CCC Coach of the Year.

The Nor'Easters' Brittney Sorbello (Dover, N.H.) and Emma Robidoux (Fairhaven, Mass.) finished back-to-back in third and fourth place with respective times of 22:21.57 and 22:35.64. Gordon's Emily Nelson (West Chester, Pa.) also earned All-CCC honors, taking fifth place in 23:13.92.

Angel Waters (Limerick, Maine) of UNE claimed sixth place for the Nor'Easters with her mark of 23:15.07, while Salve Regina's Shannon Holden (Hingham, Mass.) notched seventh place in 23:22.09.

Rounding out the all-conference runners were UNE's Amanda Macdonald (Wrentham, Mass.) in eighth place (23:23.21), Roger Williams' Jackie Applin (Walpole, Mass.) in ninth place (23:36.54), and Gordon's Mariah Geiger (Londonderry, N.H.) in tenth (23:43.81).

Endicott's Abigail Keim (Williston, Vt.) was named CCC Rookie of the Year after taking 14th place with her time of 24:05.21. Holly Rigoli (Waltham, Mass.) of Endicott, who placed 41st (25:30.54) was honored as CCC Senior Scholar-Athlete of the Year. 

Curry was led by sophomore Victoria Gately (Hanson, Mass.) who placed 73rd with a time of 27:05.  Gately was followed by senior Leigha Sweeney (Braintree, Mass.), who placed 84th with a time of 27:54.  Following Sweeney were juniors Lydia Hixson (West Hartford, Conn.), 28:18 (89th), Rachel Smith (Arlington, Mass.), 28:41 (92nd) and Meghan Macleod (Brewster, Mass.), 29:04 (98th).

Eastern Nazarene was honored with the CCC Team Sportsmanship Award.  (Race Recap Courtesy of Roger Williams Sports Information)