Women's Cross Country Gears Up for the CCC Championship on Saturday

Women's Cross Country Gears Up for the CCC Championship on Saturday

PRINGFIELD, Mass. – The nine Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) women's cross country teams will travel to Western New England on Saturday, Oct. 29 to compete in the 2016 CCC Women's Cross Country Championship. The 6-kilometer race is scheduled to start at noon.

The University of New England will be in a good position to try and capture its fifth consecutive CCC Championship as the Nor'easters have all five scorers from last year's race back this season. They are 2015 CCC Runner of the Year Tiana Thomas (Waterville, Maine), senior Brittney Sorbello (Dover, N.H.), junior Emma Robidoux (Fairhaven, Mass.), junior Angel Waters (Limerick, Maine), and junior Amanda MacDonald (Wrentham, Mass.). All five were All-Conference honorees last year and have helped UNE to first place finishes in all but one of its meets this year. The Nor'easter roster also features some key first-year's including Emily Wasina (Waterboro, Maine) and Mandy Graham (Mapleton, Maine).

The 2015 CCC Championship runner-up Salve Regina has had success as a team this year winning the Tri-State Invitational and placing second at the Roger Williams Invitational. Leading the way for the Seahawks this year is senior Victoria Varone (Providence, R.I.), who has paced Salve Regina in all but one race this year and earned four CCC Runner of the Week awards. They also return senior Amy Irving (Bohemia, N.Y.) who was an All-Conference honoree last year with a second-place finish.

Freshman Angie Epplett (Uxbridge, Mass.) has led Gordon in every race this year. She ran a personal best 19:35 at the Pop Crowell Invitational, which was good for seventh place, to help Gordon claim second in the meet's team competition. Junior Louisa Dodds (Hillsdale, N.Y.), who finished 21st in last year's Championship will also look to contribute for the Fighting Scots.

Endicott returns the 2015 CCC Rookie of the Year Abigail Keim (Williston, Vt.) who finished last year's race in 14th with a time of 24:01. She has been the Gulls top finisher in every race this year. Junior Kiera Malone (Woburn, Mass.), who placed 26th at the Championship as a sophomore has also been a top contributor for Endicott. Newcomer Laura Pomeroy (Windham, N.H.) has been another bright spot for the Gulls as she is consistently one of Endicott's top-three finishers.

Roger Williams placed second as a team at the WNE Golden Bear Invitational a couple of weeks ago at the site of this weekend's CCC Championship. Leading the way for the Hawks are 2015 All-Conference performer Jackie Applin (Walpole, Mass.) and freshman Sarah Mawdsley (Sandy Hook, Conn.). Applin, a junior captain, finished ninth in last year's Championship race, while Mawdsley has been Roger Williams' top finisher in two of four races.

Sophomore Meagan Dias (Ludlow, Mass.) has led Western New England, the host for Saturday's Championship race, all season. Dias had a strong showing in the Championship race as a freshman leading the Golden Bears with a time of 24:18. They will also hope to get contributions from senior Amy Grindle (Feeding Hills, Mass.), junior Kathleen Silveira (Plainfield, Conn.), and freshman Brooke Townsend (Portland, Conn.). 

Curry returns its top finisher from a year ago in Victoria Gately (Hanson, Mass.). The Colonels junior has led Curry in every race this year with her best result coming in the Mass. Maritime Travis Fuller Invitational where she finished second.

A pair of freshmen in Jael Bourque (Nashua, N.H.) and Karen Diaz (Gaithersburg, Md.) lead Eastern Nazarene into this weekend's Championship race. They have each finished as the Lions' top runner in two races. Eastern Nazarene will also look to senior Dezirae Maffit (Aurora, Ill.) to contribute.

Senior Elizabeth Fay (Worcester, Mass.), Nichols' top runner, will lead a contingent of Bison racers that also includes senior Alexandra Hanlon (Bolton, Conn.) and freshman Madison Rowland (Leicester, Mass.). 

Click Here to view full release.